Brief History


A water supply system has a tremendous influence on daily life and is essential to the modern society. A reliable supply of water is necessary to protect people’s health, safety, and quality of life as well as enabling the development of urban areas and stimulating economic development. A sufficient water supply is an internationally recognized indicator of the level of public health, economic development, and competitiveness of a country.

The Chinese Taiwan Water Works Association (CTWWA) has been an important contributor in the development of Taiwan’s water supply system over the last one hundred years. Since 1950, it has provided a platform for technology exchange between academia, engineers, and business.

Brief History

The water works Association of Taiwan was established in June, 1950, and was later renamed the Chinese Taiwan Water Works Association on 17 November 1967.

The CTWWA is a membership organization with a broad base of organizational and individual members. As of 2014, the CTWWA had 24 organizational members, including four national water supply facilities (Taipei Water Department , Taiwan Water Supply Corporation, Kinmen Water Works, and Lien-jiang Water Works), two government agencies, and 18 companies involved in providing water supply engineering services of equipment. In addition, the CTWWA also has 5,500 individual members from industry, academia, and research institutes.

The highest government body within the CTWWA is its General Convention. A Board of Directors and Supervisors serves underneath the General Convention, and the President of the CTWWA servers as its public representative.

There are seven standing committees covering: international affairs, management research, technology research, finances, publications, membership affairs, and an advisory committee.

The CTWWA office is headed by its Secretary General and the office is organized into five departments: general administration, accounting, services, personnel, and association affairs. In addition, the CTWWA also maintains a laboratory that provides analytical services.